|Notary Public Commission Frequently Asked Questions|
The Michigan Secretary of State offers a search option on their website. The information includes the individual's full name, county of appointment, appointment date, notary public expiration date, and status. To search their database, CLICK HERE.
If your certificate has been lost or destroyed and you would like to replace it, you may request a duplicate by submitting a written request to the Office of the Great Seal with a $10.00 processing fee. Location: Office of the Great Seal, 108 South Washington Square, Suite 1, Lansing, MI 48918-1750. CLICK HERE for directions and hours.
If you legally change your name or your address after you have been commissioned as a notary public, or if your commission certificate contains an error, you must immediately notify the Office of the Great Seal at 888-SOS-MICH (888-767-6424) or by completing the "Request for Duplicate/Notice of Change Form." CLICK HERE to download this PDF. There is no need to reapply, and there is no charge to correct your records.
You can contact your own insurance company or refer to your yellow pages under Bonds.
Yes, you can notarize throughout the state of Michigan once you have taken your oath of office. When you are in another county, other than the county you reside in, you must always include in your notarization "Acting in (name of county you are notarizing in) County."
State law in Michigan does not require you to have a stamp or seal, but for documents that are going out of the state or out of the country it is required.
You can obtain your stamp and seal through any office supply store or the company that you purchased your bond through.
No, the county does not. That is up to the notary public to obtain an application and reapply.
A person can apply no sooner than 60 days prior to the expiration of their current notary commission.
No. The only methods the Clerk's Office will accept is in person or by U.S. mail. If the applicant mails their application, their signature must be notarized before mailing it to us. If the applicant brings the application to the Clerk's Office with their bond, the staff will notarize their signature if proper identification is shown.
Need Help? Call 586-469-5205 or CLICK HERE to return to the Macomb County Clerk's Office home page